Kansas Judicial Branch Home
Kansas Courts
Kansas Judicial Branch

The Kansas Supreme Court
301 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka Kansas 66612-1507

Office of Judicial Administration
Fax:  785.296.7076
Email: info@kscourts.org

Appellate Clerk's Office
Fax:  785.296.1028
Email: appellateclerk@kscourts.org

Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is the highest court in Kansas. It consists of seven justices, each of whom is selected by the governor. The governor appoints from a list of three qualified individuals submitted by the Supreme Court Nominating Commission. After the first year in office, a justice is subject to a retention vote in the next general election. If a majority of electors votes to retain the justice, he or she remains in office for a term of six years. Justices are subject to a similar retention vote at the conclusion of each term.

The justice who is senior in terms of continuous service is designated by the Kansas Constitution as the chief justice, unless he or she declines or resigns the position. The chief justice has general administrative supervision over the affairs of the court and of the unified judicial department of the state.

Justices of the Supreme Court ordinarily do not conduct trials. They decide an appealed case by reading the record of the trial and written briefs filed by the parties, and hearing oral arguments of lawyers. They research and review the law involved in the case and then write an opinion which is usually published in bound volumes. The court announces its decisions by filing them with the Office of the Clerk of the Appellate Courts.

Decisions of the Court are filed with the Clerk of the Appellate Courts weekly, usually on Friday mornings at 9:30 a.m. They are then posted on this website within one hour of the time (usually 9:30 a.m. each Friday) they are transmitted by the Reporter's Office to the webmaster by Date of Release